Oyewale Tomori

Oyewale Tomori

Oyewale Tomori, DVM, PhD, FAS, FCVSN, FRCPath (UK) NNOM, FASTMH, NAM

Oyewale Tomori is a past President of the Nigerian Academy of Science with experience in virology, disease prevention and control.

He was at the University of Ibadan from 1971 to 1994. He later served as the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of the Redeemer’s University in Nigeria from 2004 to 2011.

From 1994 to 2004, he was the virologist for the World Health Organization (WHO)’s Africa Region, establishing the African Regional Polio Laboratory Network. In 1981, he was recognized by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for contributions to Lassa fever research.

In 2002, he received the Nigerian National Order of Merit, the country’s highest award for academic and intellectual attainment and national development. He has authored/co-authored over 160 scientific publications.

Dr. Tomori has served or continues to serve on numerous advisory committees, including (nationally) – Chair, Lassa Fever Steering Committee, National Laboratory Technical Working Group, Expert Working Group on Polio Eradication and Routine Immunization,  etc., and (internationally)- WHO SAGE, WHO Africa Regional Polio Certification Committee, WHO Group of Experts on Yellow Fever Disease, Chairman WHO Yellow Fever Emergency Committee on International Health Regulations, GAVI Board, Vice Chair of U.S. National Academy of Medicine Global Health Risk Framework Commission, and World Bank Interagency Working Group on Financing Preparedness and Response. On COVID19, he served as the Laboratory Planning and Quality Monitoring Adviser to the WHO -AFRO Regional Director and is the Chairman, Ministerial Expert Advisory Committee on Covid19 Health Sector Response.

He is an international member of the U.S. National Academy of Medicine and currently Chair, Board of Biovaccines Nigeria Ltd. He is a member of the Global Virome Project Leadership Board and Senior Fellow, Scowcroft Institute at the Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University. Member, WHO Technical Advisory Group on COVID-19 Vaccine Composition (TAG-CO-VAC) He currently serves as Chair, Board of Biovaccines Nigeria Ltd, Chairman, Ministerial Expert Advisory Committee of the Health Sector COVID-19 Response (MEACoC), and Member, GAVI Independent Review Committee.